Parliament swears in Bryan Acheampong

The Speaker of Parliament, Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, led Mr Acheampong to take the oaths of allegiance and an MP.

Mr Acheampong won the Abetifi seat on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) on July 15, 2016 in a by-election following the death of the former MP, Mr Peter Wiafe Pepera, on May 21, 2016.

Speaker’s advice

The Speaker reminded Mr Acheampong of the need to represent all the people in his area.

He said the MP represented both the people who voted for him and those who did not.

Mr Adjaho said the MP might even find out in the course of his work that even those who voted against him might end up as his best friends.

The Speaker told the new MP that “in this House, we agree to disagree.”

Minority Leader

The Minority Leader, Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, said the new MP had come at the tail end of the activities of Parliament .

The Minority Leader added that it was a period for Mr Acheampong to learn the rules, how business was conducted and how he was supposed to conduct himself.

He asked the new MP to learn and be guided by the rules of procedure.

“Here in this House, we deal with truthfulness and not propaganda,” he said.

Deputy Majority Leader

The Deputy Majority Leader, Mr Alfred Agbesi, asked the new MP to take his behaviour and character seriously inside and outside the House.

He asked Mr Acheampong to study the codes of conduct and abide by them.